A statement was made by South Africa’s Department of Home Affairs (DHA) late last year regarding the implementation of visa requirements for citizens of New Zealand, effective January 2017. Below are the specifics that have been communicated by the DHA.

  • New Zealand citizens travelling to SA on or after 16 January 2017 will be required to apply for a visa.
  • All visa applications for travel to South Africa will have to be made in person at the South African High Commission in Wellington.
  • New Zealanders living elsewhere in the world (including Australia) and who do not have permanent residency in that country will have to return to Wellington to apply for a visa in person.
  • Applications will need to meet the requirements as detailed on the South African Home Affairs website.
  • Please note: should an itinerary require re-entry into South Africa after 16 January 2017, guests would need a Visa and are advised to make contact with the South African High Commission in Wellington.
  • If in transit through OR Tambo, Lanseria, Cape Town or King Shaka International Airports, New Zealand nationals will not require transit visas (for travel en-route to neighbouring countries). However, transit visas will be required for all those transferring through any other ports of entry. Please enquire about transit visas with the South African High Commission in New Zealand.
  • There is a prescribed fee for visa applications which is to be confirmed.
  • The turnaround time for visa issuance is 5 to 7 days.
  • A New Zealand visitor to South Africa arriving before 16 January 2017 does not need a visa and they will be able to exit after that date without a problem as there are no visa checks on departure.

We will keep you updated as we receive more information on this news.